Iowa News from across the Country
- 1926 -

New York Times
New York, New York
January 23, 1926

Chanut-Bell. The marriage of Miss May Elizabeth Bell, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Frederick Bell of Dubuque, Iowa, to Jean Maurice Chanut of Franklin Avenue, New Rochelle, took place Thursday evening at the Hotel Roosevelt. Father Farrell performed the ceremony. Mrs. Robert A. Kuzmier, a sister of the bride, was the matron of honor. The best man was Robert Kuzmier. A reception followed the ceremony. The couple will reside in New York. Mr. Chanut is a glove importer.

[transcribed by S.F., April 2011]


Modesto News-Herald
Modesto, California
May 4, 1926

Thompson - Died. In Modesto, May 2, Frances Arlela, beloved wife of Harvey Thompson, loving daughter of Mr. and Mrs. G.G. Ulmick of Exira, Iowa, sister of Gay, Harold and Carl Dimick of Exira, Iowa. A native of Iowa, aged 24 years. Funeral services were held from the Severn Funeral Home, Monday at 4:30 o'clock. Remains will be forwarded to Exira, Iowa, Tuesday for interment.

[transcribed by S.F., August 2008]


Lincoln Star
Lincoln, Nebraska
May 9, 1926

Forty-One Iowa and Fifteen Nebraska Clubs Represented at District Meeting
Forty-one Iowa Lions clubs and fifteen Nebraska Lions clubs will be represented at the tenth annual convention of the ninth district of Lion International, which will be held here Tuesday and Wednesday of next week. Following is the list of the clubs, their officers, and number of members:

Iowa Clubs.
ALBIA - M.G. Youngquist, president, W.T. Richmond, secretary, 47 members.
AMES - W. Craig Stephenson, president; A.H. Kimball, secretary; 36 members.
ATLANTIC - Dr. R.J. Barnett, president; Paul Kringle, secretary, 26 members.
AUDUBON - M.M. McIntire, president; L.T. Graham, secretary, 15 members.
BOONE - Frank McDonald, president; Raymond, secretary; 56 members.
BURLINGTON - Thomas Greene, president; C.T. Simmons, secretary, 56 members.
CARROLL- D.W. Humphrey, president; N.G. Willie, secretary; 20 members.
CEDAR FALLS - H.P. Baird, president; Kirk S. Oleson, secretary; ?6 members.
CEDAR RAPIDS - ?, president; Fred Popnee?, secretary, 108 members.
CHARLES CITY - Griffith Woltke, president; Coburn Chapl??, secretary, 4? members.
CLEAR LAKE - Anton N Anderson, president; D H Campbell, secretary, 16 members.
COUNCIL BLUFFS - Rev. ? P. Linn, president; Charles H. Leisher, secretary, 47 members.
DAVENPORT - Herman St?ak, president; Harold Hoe?s?h, secretary, 5? members.
DES MOINES - A.E. Fletcher, president; A.H. Edwards, secretary; 92 members.
DUBUQUE - Walter L. Gifford, president; L.F. McDonough, secretary, 24 members.
FAIRFIELD - Gafford I Thomas, president; Dr. H.N. Wright, secretary, 46 members.
FORT DODGE - E.M. McCall, president; W.E. Haynes, secretary, 14 members.
FORT MADISON - Robert A. Gardner, president; R.H. Wardle, secretary; 51 members.
GARDNER - Dr. Earl R. Phillips, president; Dr. R.W. Specht, secretary; 28 members.
GUTHRIE CENTER - Earl W. Vincent, president, J.E. Batschelet, secretary, 34 members.
HAMPTON - R.C. Robinson, president, R.R. Stuart, secretary, 33 members.
IOWA CITY - E.I. Weldner, president, Ray Carson, secretary, 46 members.
JEFFERSON CITY - Joseph Baggard, president; Earl Raver, secretary; 21 members.
KEOKUK - Dale E. Carrell, president; J.K. Davidson, secretary; 46 members.
LA PORTE CITY - H.G. Christiansen, president; C.A. Brust, secretary, 24 members.
LE MARS - Dr. R.J. Joynt, president; C.A. Honnold, secretary, 30 members.
MARION - Ben Cotton, president; G.A. Senninger, secretary; 25 members.
MARSHALLTOWN - Dr. R.S. Grossman, president; R.J. Booth, secretary, 43 members.
MASON CITY - Dr. C.F. Starr, president, Clark E. Gilman, secretary, 81 members.
MOUNT VERNON - Fred A. Young, president; Fred W. Wodrich, secretary; 24 members.
MUSCATINE - J.A. Davidson, president; E.W. Smith, secretary; 62 members.
OSAGE - ?.G. Bartlett, president; D.J. Paulson, secretary, 50 members.
OTTUMWA - E.A. Haw, president; Dr. Elroy White, secretary; 50 members.
PERRY - C.D. Bessmer, president; Hugh Jones, secretary, 17 members.
SIGOURNEY - Al Bentzigner, president; D.A. Sexton, secretary, 44 members.
SIOUX CITY - H.C. Harper, president; M.H. White, secretary; 90 members.
TIPTON - A.E. Pierce, president; C.A. Rasley, secretary, 24 members.
VINTON - C.W. Rowe, president; H.M. Main, secretary; 33 members.
WATERLOO - G.W. Thodd, president; A.E. Gnagy, secretary; 57 members.
WOODBINE - Joe E. Dale, president; Allen E. Muir, secretary; 27 members.

[Transcriber notes: Nebraska clubs not transcribed. Dr. R.J. Joynt of LeMars was my granduncle; transcribed by C.J.L., January 2006]


New York Times
New York, New York
July 27, 1926

Helen G. Sammis to Wed N.B. Ashby.
Mr. and Mrs. Elmer Grant Sammis of 391 Decatur Street, Brooklyn, have announced the engagement of their daughter Miss Helen Gertrude Sammis, to Newton Bruce Ashby of this city and Des Moines, Iowa. The wedding will take place in the Autumn. Miss Sammis was graduated from Smith College. Mr. Ashby, who is the son of Mr. and Mrs. Newton B. Ashby of Des Moines, was graduated from Grinnell College, Grinnell, Iowa. During the war he served in the United States Army. Mr. Ashby spent a year in Washington where he held a government position. Later he came to this city and is with the advertising firm of J. Walter Thompson. He is temporarily making his home in White Plains.

[transcribed by S.F., April 2011]


Appleton Post Crescent
Appleton, Wisconsin
August 17, 1926

Announcement has been made of the approaching marriage of William Jensen of Menasha and Miss Alta Schultz of Postville, Ia. The ceremony will take place at Postville Tuesday, Aug. 24.

[transcribed by S.F., August 2006]


Waukesha Daily Freeman
Waukesha, Wisconsin
November 5, 1926

Brown Swiss Cattlemen Elect Officers
Beloit, Wis. - At the closing session of the annual convention of the Brown Swiss Cattle Breeders association of America, Prof. B.H. Hibbard, professor of dairying at the University of Wisconsin was elected president. Dr. C.S. Osborn, Hampton, Iowa, was elected vice president and Ira Inman, Beloit, re-elected secretary and treasurer. This is the seventeenth year that Inman has been elected as secretary.

[transcribed by S.F., Jan 2012]

News from elsewhere index

Iowa Old Press Home